X-108 Info X108G Radio Calibration

Discussion in 'X-108 TRX' started by DV1YZD, Nov 28, 2016.

  1. DV1YZD
    Offline

    DV1YZD Junior Boarder X-108 Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    PK04np
    Home page:
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Rufzeichen/Call:
    DV1YZD
    Hi Guys

    I'm new here, and I seem to screw up my X108G
    I updated to the latest firmware but I wasn't able to backup the filters.
    I did what the guide says about opening the case and looking for a label, but mine had no label or did not know where to find it.
    I also seem to screw up the Radio Calibration section.
    Can someone post a picture of their radio calibration section so that I can copy it and put it in my radio please?
    (turn off radio - press F2, while pressing F2, turn On radio)

    IMG_20161129_012741.jpg
     
  2. AC6KD
    Offline

    AC6KD Beginner X-108 Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Rufzeichen/Call:
    AC6KD
  3. AC6KD
    Offline

    AC6KD Beginner X-108 Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Rufzeichen/Call:
    AC6KD
    IMG_20170329_201359204.jpg Here's what I have,. SN10807 on rear of mine... Hope it works! Filters
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2017
  4. X-108
    Offline

    X-108 Crack-Boarder X-108 Member Moderator

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart
    Home page:
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    Verified User:
    YES
    here my system settings of the x108g

    [​IMG]
     
  5. artty
    Offline

    artty Chef-Boarder X-108 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    BUDE
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -1
    Verified User:
    NO
    Rufzeichen/Call:
    G3XNE
    .....

    Hello AC6KD.. SEEN YOUR ASSISTANCE WITH CALIBRATION SETTINGS...COULD YOU VERIFY PLEASE WHAT YOUR CALIBRATIONS WERE IN THE TABLE (NOT THE SYSTEM SYSTEMS) F2 HOLD AND POWER UP.. I HAVE ONE OF THE FIRST (SER 0013) X108G TCVRS AND SEEM TO HAVE LOST MY SETTINGS AFTER A FIRMWARE UPDATE (INDOOR)(YET AGAIN !!) IT SEEMS THE -121dbm SETTING STARTS AT 2400.. MY ADC = 3659.. MY MIC SETUP AND MODDED BY AB5N,, HAVE INSTALLED AN AUDIO VARIABLE DSP BOARD, MOD DONE WITH R76 REMOVAL TO GIVE EXTENDED WIDEBAND TX, SO239 HARDWIRED TO THE PCB. HAVE ALSO CHANGED THE TOUCH SWITCHES AND NOW INCORPORATED IN A NEW ENCLOSURE. IT ANNOYED ME THAT THE ENGINNERING FOR THE INTERNAL HEATSINK WAS PHYSICALLY MOUNTED BELOW THE PCB AND NOT ON TOP WHERE IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN... (ONGOING !!)ONE DAY I MAY EVEN GET TO HAVE A QSO !! HI..
    THANKS FOR LISTENING,
    ART G3XNE - K3XNE
     
  6. AC6KD
    Offline

    AC6KD Beginner X-108 Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Rufzeichen/Call:
    AC6KD
    IMG_20171231_154014722_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg
    Outdoooor version here, though. Had to replace previous radio in picture. It gave out! This one has held out. Latest firmware. Would like to see pic of your great mods!
     
  7. artty
    Offline

    artty Chef-Boarder X-108 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    BUDE
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -1
    Verified User:
    NO
    Rufzeichen/Call:
    G3XNE
    Hi again. a very big thank you for your calibration table pic.... Will get back to you with some pics later...Looking at the table figures seem to show the Adc and the -121 dBM level are the same. So using this analogy i'll try and follow through on this using my Adc of 3568..Not so sure if this is the way to go, but hey we'll give it a go !! Sorry don't know the name, mebbe you'll let me know next time...Just watching the New Year firework display on the river Thames in London...awesome.. A very Happy New year to you and family..

    Art G3XNE - K3XNE
     
  8. artty
    Offline

    artty Chef-Boarder X-108 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    BUDE
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -1
    Verified User:
    NO
    Rufzeichen/Call:
    G3XNE
    HI P'JAY MAYBE NOW YOU HAVE SOME EXAMPLES OF RADIO CALIBRATION TABLES..I HAD SOME FROM STORMY- AC6HD..HAVE A LOOK AND SEE IF YOU CAN USE THEM.. HAPPY NEW YEAR 2018 TO YOU...
    ART G3XNE - K3XNE
     
  9. artty
    Offline

    artty Chef-Boarder X-108 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    BUDE
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -1
    Verified User:
    NO
    Rufzeichen/Call:
    G3XNE
     
  10. artty
    Offline

    artty Chef-Boarder X-108 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    BUDE
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -1
    Verified User:
    NO
    Rufzeichen/Call:
    G3XNE

    Have you any progress P'jay ??


    Art
     
  11. DD5LP
    Offline

    DD5LP Crack-Boarder X-108 Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pürgen, Bavaria, Germany
    Home page:
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    Rufzeichen/Call:
    DD5LP
    This is from the service manual (it looks like to set the S-table a signal generator is needed).

    S table Parameter calibration

    1) Set the receiving frequency of X108G to be 14.25000MHz, [USB] mode.
    2) Open [PRE],close [ATT] and [AGC] and [SQL].
    3) Connect the output port of the RF signal source to the antenna interface of the X108G;
    4) Turn off the RF signal source output, adjust the S table reference voltage PotentiometerRW1, make the
    -121dBm value of ADC on the screen is 2500, press the [SET] button to enter the next level signal setting.
    5) Open the RF signal source, in turn, set up the signal source output signal amplitude by the each signal
    intensity as displayed on a screen, and then press the [SET] button to enter the next level of signal
    settings.
    6) After setting all the signal levels, press the [SAVE] button to save and exit.

    upload_2018-1-27_19-52-3.png

    When I look at the table in my X108G, all values in DB are set to 1941 - which is most likely why my S-meter is always pinned against the end stop!

    73 Ed DD5LP
     
  12. DD5LP
    Offline

    DD5LP Crack-Boarder X-108 Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pürgen, Bavaria, Germany
    Home page:
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    Rufzeichen/Call:
    DD5LP
    Just to add the ADC at the top of the screen flickers vetween 1940 & 1941. I haven't been inside this (new to me) rig yet but I think someone else might have been or could a f1rmware upgrade have caused these errors?
     
  13. artty
    Offline

    artty Chef-Boarder X-108 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    BUDE
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -1
    Verified User:
    NO
    Rufzeichen/Call:
    G3XNE
     
  14. DD5LP
    Offline

    DD5LP Crack-Boarder X-108 Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pürgen, Bavaria, Germany
    Home page:
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    Rufzeichen/Call:
    DD5LP
    Thanks for these values, they worked in my X108G as well (now the S-meter isn't pinned against the end stop all the time!). I "tweaked a little bit adding 10 to each value and I now get a similar S meter indication to what I have on my IC7300 using the same antenna.

    This may not be 100% accurate but as I tend to give S-reports by ear rather than from the meter, it's close enough for me.

    73 Ed.
     

Share This Page